Back from the Dead

Not really back from the dead, but like Persephone in the Greek myth, I have been to Hell and back.  Well, not quite that bad. There were no pomegranates and no angry Greek Gods involved.  Since January 6th, we have been immersed in a nightmare remodel. “it will only involve the upstairs”, “you won’t even know we are here”, assured my contractor.  We just got to see the big reveal at the end.  6-8 weeks tops.  Not to bore you with the details, but we are currently 14 weeks in: we had no heat for 9 weeks, homeless for 4, the whole family, including the dogs lived in one room for about 12 weeks, it rained in the house, (oh and they discovered a new leak yesterday), and has involved every single room but the master bedroom. Like the HGTV shows (as everyone likes to remind me, or like the 80’s , movie “The Money Pit”), everything that could go wrong went wrong.

I think I hate my contractor, but I can’t share this because he’s not done yet. Pretty sure he doesn’t read this blog, though.

Anyhoo, sorry for the lack of posts.

In the meantime, I did get an iMac for Christmas, so I’m learning how to use it.  I just bought a book on how to do this.

On to veterinary topics: There is a canine flu outbreak in Chicago. I don’t live in Chicago, never been there. I hear it’s nice, except for in winter. I think the “Divergent” series takes place in post-apocalyptic Chicago. President Obama is from there.

Now they are ground zero in the latest scary outbreak.

According to this AAHA article (and I’m in a hurry to get this out before tonight’s cub scout meeting so I keep forgetting to check “open link in another window” , so sorry.)  There are about 1000 sick dogs and 5 deaths.

This article notes that this is a new strain of canine influenza that comes from Asia.

Thus, I’m not sure, in my professional opinion, that the commercially available flu vaccines will cross protect for this. I’m reading up on the latest news on VIN, but it’s time to feed the family in anticipation of Scouts.

More tomorrow (if I can squeeze it in between viola lessons, orthodontist appointments, and other joys of parenting).

Oh and just now, the wood-floor guys (repairing damage from another contractor screw-up) informed me they have no idea what color my existing floor is, so they will “try to match it as best they can”. Fantastic.

Don’t remodel.

One thought on “Back from the Dead

Leave a Reply

