The 12 Days of Christmas, Veterinary Style

If I recall correctly, I wrote this in 2009 while sitting in the driveway watching the kids play.  Currently it’s way to cold and dreary to play outside, but I noticed this blog had been Googled a time or two, so I figure I’d repost it.  If I had to do it over, I’d add euthanasias to the list because we do a ton of them at Christmas time, but that’s not so jolly. Thus, on second thought, I’ll just stick to the happier version: 

On the first day of Christmas my client brought to me:  a hotspot caused by a flea.

On the second day of Christmas my client brought to me:   two itchy Labs, and a hotspot caused by a flea. 

On the third day of Christmas my client brought  to me:   three blocked toms, two itchy Labs and a hotspot caused by a flea.

On the fourth day of Christmas my client brought to me:   four limping dogs, three blocked cats, two itchy Labs and a hotspot caused by a flea. 

On the fifth day of Christmas my client brought to me:  five jaundiced pets, four limping dogs, three blocked toms, two itchy labs and a hotspot caused by a flea. 

On the sixth day of Christmas my client brought to me:  six cats a’ spraying,  five jaundiced pets, four limping dogs, three blocked toms, two itchy Labs and a hotspot caused by a flea.  (making good use of the cut/paste feature here :)   )

On the seventh day of Christmas, my client brought to me:  seven Cockers coughing,  six cats a’ spraying,  five jaundiced pets, four limping dogs, three blocked toms, two itchy Labs and a hotspot caused by a flea. 

On the eighth day of Christmas, my client brought to me:  eight Shepherds scooting, seven Cockers coughing, six cats a’ spraying, five jaundiced pets.  Four limping dogs, three blocked toms, two itchy Labs and a hotspot caused by a flea.

On the ninth day of Christmas, my client brought to me:  nine boils for lancing,  eight Shepherds scooting, seven Cockers coughing, six cats a’ spraying, five jaundiced pets.  Four limping dogs, three blocked toms, two itchy Labs and a hotspot caused by a flea.

On the tenth day of Christmas, my client brought to me:  ten roundworms creeping, nine boils for lancing,  eight Shepherds scooting, seven Cockers coughing, six cats a’ spraying, five jaundiced pets.  Four limping dogs, three blocked toms, two itchy labs and a hotspot caused by a flea.

On the eleventh day of Christmas, my client brought to me:  eleven patients barfing,  ten roundworms creeping, nine boils for lancing,  eight Shepherds scooting, seven Cockers coughing, six cats a’ spraying, five jaundiced pets.  Four limping dogs, three blocked toms, two itchy Labs and a hotspot caused by a flea.

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my client brought to me:  twelve  chocolate eatings,  eleven patients barfing,  ten roundworms creeping, nine boils for lancing,  eight Shepherds scooting, seven Cockers coughing, six cats a’ spraying, five jaundiced pets.  Four limping dogs, three blocked toms, two itchy Labs and a hotspot caused by a flea.

Happy holidays folks.  May the new year be happy and healthy for all your critters and people.

 
 
3 thoughts on “The 12 Days of Christmas, Veterinary Style

  1. Dr. Carroll – Once again a great post. I am glad you left off the EU tho. If I were a pet owner who had made this usually very difficult decision during this holiday season, I don’t think I would have wanted to see it presented in this way. Good call on that one.

    Happy holidays to you and your family and all of the extended family at the Med Center in Plano!

    Jill

Leave a Reply

