Off With Her Leg…

Ok, little Peaches is now a 3 legged dog.  She was pretty much 3 legged already as a result of the whole hit-by-car thing, but now it’s official and much more aesthetically pleasing. 

The last time I amputated a leg at the shoulder was 16 years ago in vet school in my first year anatomy class.  Our cadaver dog’s name was Reba, after Reba McIntyre, the country singer.  I think we named her that because she had red hair, like the singer. 

I still remember, to this day, being creeped out by just how easy it is to take the whole arm off.  The dogs arm/shoulder blade unit is basically strapped to the body by a bunch of muscles whose names I forgot years ago. 

Essentially, you cut about 4 muscles loose and *poof*, off comes the shoulder blade.  Literally, just like that. 

Next you tie off a bunch of big, scary veins.  Cut through those and a bunch of nerves.  Cut some more muscles and *poof* the whole leg comes off. 

In practice, it’s not quite as easy as it sounds.  Frankly, I’ve confirmed that I definitely prefer medicine to surgery.  I’m glad I did it though.  It was an experience. 

The pain control experiment went really well, she never cried or whimpered, and she’s resting comfortably. 

It’s 6:00 now, and there’s a big glass of red wine calling my name, so I’ll post pictures next week. 

Well, here’s one of her in recovery…

3 thoughts on “Off With Her Leg…

    1. She’s been at her new home in Nashville for two weeks now. She and her new owner are blissfully in love with each other. A very happy ending for Peaches!

Leave a Reply

