The Gift of Variety part 2

So yesterday I was giving you a rundown of my day, in case anyone was interested.  I just wanted to show you the patchwork of cases I see…

2:00  Young schnauzer named Augie with the dry heaves.  Hopefully it’s due to too many food changes and not a swallowed object (as young dogs tend to do).  Their other dog is called Mulligan isn’t that a great name?  So far, no news is good news, hopefully he’ll be ok.

2:30 Very cool new (to me) clients.  They have a weird outbreak of biting flies in their yard.  Not sure what to make of the flies, but I can help the dog with Vectra 3-D.  Got to talking, turns out they moved here from Mississippi.  The kid is in 5th grade I think and is brilliant.  I love when kids actually chat with me and you should have heard this kids vocabulary! He’s read the whole entire Chronicles of Narnia series!  Holy cow! What a lucky mom, except that in the course of conversation I learned that the boys sister died last year in a car crash.  The dog got in the car for the first time yesterday as she’s been afraid to get in the car since the accident (the dog was in the car when the crash occurred).  Talk about a bittersweet experience (great family,  immeasurably sad story). 

3:00 dreading this one.  Cute, cute, cute puppy.  Just adopted a few weeks ago.  His former name was Phoenix, now it’s Jack.  He survived losing an eye, intestinal surgery for a puncture from a dog fight wound only to be stricken with a bad, bad set of kidneys.  When I met him he was this goofy, sweet, bubbly boy.  I ran bloodwork because the previous vet said his kidneys weren’t so good.  They were TERRIBLE.  I could not believe he looked so good.  Pretty much that meant he was born with the bad kidneys and had adapted to them.  Unfortunately, his luck ran out.  Yesterday he was a different dog.  He was so weak he could barely walk.  He had stopped eating.   We had the difficult talk.  The only option was a kidney transplant and that’s just not a reasonable option.  We could hospitalize and buy a little time, but, really, who are we kidding?  We decided to put him down.  Carmen opened the cabinet to grab a blanket for the pup to lay on and he crawled into the cabinet, curled up, and laid down, his back to us.  I think that’s one of the saddest things I’ve ever seen.   He had given up. 

Close that box, open another… (This is where I wish I could just press some kind of “stop” button so I can just reflect on the enormity of what I just did, but I can’t, there are people waiting for me…I have to just bury it and move on…hopefully I won’t explode sometime.)

3:30 Armand, another great name.  He is gentle, dignified cat who turned yellow about 3 or 4 weeks ago.  Bloodwork and ultrasound later, found out he had fatty liver syndrome and pancreatitis.  He needed a stomach tube (well, really an esophageal tube, but stomach tube makes more sense…) to survive.  So, Dr. Rogers and I got it in.  His owner went to work armed with pureed stinky cat food, lots of pills and a spreadsheet.  She kept that cat alive out of sheer force of will, and he thrived.  He put on two pounds and is no longer yellow.  We took out his feeding tube.  Their 5 year old daughter drew a picture of Armand’s bones from his X-Ray.  So far so good.  He’ll be ok as long as he keeps on eating and his Pancreas quiets down.

Last appointment of the day (I think my 5:30 was a no-show)  Coupla cats named Sammy and Rocky.  The owner was bleeding because Rocky didn’t care for being put in his crate to come in.  Bothcats are Katrina rescues.  Sammy is stricken with a Herpes virus that ravages his eyes a couple times a year.  It’s sort of like getting cold sores on and around your eyeballs.  However he is such a good sport about it, letting his owners put myriad eye drops in every day (once, Sammy got Herpes sores around his eyelids and face, and his owner had to get genital wart cream to treat it, talk about an embarassing pharmacy visit…”I swear, it’s for my cat!”).  Rocky is the healthy one.  The owner is this older guy, maybe my dad’s age.  His wife has had a stroke and has slow mobility (she can get around, it just takes hear awhile, per the Mr.).  But that doesn’t stop those two from driving all over the US of A, camping as they go.  They spent 6 weeks driving around Alaska last year.  He said he saw like 10 Grizzly bears (Including one chasing a moose! He musta been pretty hungry or it was a sick moose.)

So anyhow, one of the cool things about being a vet is getting to experience this infinite variety of thoughts, experiences, people and pets on a daily basis.  In the grand scheme of things, it’s never truly mundane (sometimes it feels like it, but not often).  Granted, I could be a survivalist/explorer like that guy on that Discovery Channel show and that would definitely be more exciting and eventful (but I’m not such a big fan of Malaria, Ebola, tribal uprisings, snakes, drinking my own urine and such). 

So, I guess I’ll stick with my little  job in my little corner of the universe; taking a deep breath before opening that next door, seeing what the package is and jumping in to the next little mini-adventure… (Well,  that’s sort of cheesy, but that’s ok, it’s good to be cheesy sometimes)

Leave a Reply

