Bear With Me Here

So here’s my big debut.  There is a waiting room full of people and I’ve snuck in here to start this blog.  I have no clue what I’m doing so I’m just going to wing it.  So the title of this blog refers to the Hurricaine Tracking System that we watched like a hawk a month ago when Ike barreled into Galveston.  I figured that’s a pretty good metaphor for my life b/c the cone was huge and uncertain and suitably vague.  I think I want to change the title, incidentally, but I have no idea how, so I’m stuck with it for now. 

OK, me in a nutshell: I’m a 35 year old veterinarian working at Animal Medical Center of Plano in the great state of Texas for the last 8 years.  Before that I worked at a clinic in Dallas.  I’ve got two sons aged 6,3 who keep me addled and distracted most of the time.  They are, however, my crowning achievement in life (so far).  The purpose of this blog is to use it as a forum to tell you about neat occurences in my veterinary practice and vent about this crazy juggling act that is my life.

So, since this will be linked to through our clinic website (www.planovets.com) I’m going to try and talk about work alot.  I’m very likely to jump subjects though.  Anyhow, today was a semi busy day.  Probably the most exciting thing of the day was the exploratory that Dr. Rogers did on a young mastiff who ate and subsequently got obstructed by a hippo stuffed animal.  She (the dog, not Dr. Rogers) vomited the other 10 toys she ate!  

As a vet, one of the more frustrating things to deal with is the “ADR” patient.  ADR, for the uninitiated means “Aint’ Doing Right”.  This one was a Westie who didn’t want to eat, wasn’t herself and had pain upon opening her mouth.  I’ve seen everything from sticks stuck behind teeth, to sewing needles, to battery acid, to autoimmune disease, to abscesses cause these symptoms.  How cool would it be if the dog could say, “Well, Dr. C, I bit into a stick and there’s this splinter in my tongue and it really hurts”.  Unfortunately, since they can’t, I have to start poking and prodding and running tests.  Frustratingly, everything on this dog is perfectly normal, so we have to just treat for the treatable (Antibiotics, and Pain Meds/Anti-inflammatories) and cross our fingers and see what happens.  More testing will prevail (MRI/CT/blood testing) if she doesn’t get better.   Just so you know, these situations are frustrating for you and for me too…you and I both want the pet to feel better.  It’s one of the more stressful facets of a career as a doctor who can’t speak to their patients. 

That’s it for now…

Vivian

2 thoughts on “Bear With Me Here

  1. I DIDN’T KNOW YOU WERE 35! I though you were like 32. lol

    your blogs are way better than those emo ppls. on myspace who talk about cutting themselves. 🙂

    -Lauren

Leave a Reply

